Nursing Excellence

Noteworthy Nurses

2015 GEM Award Nominees Aileen Ingels, Rebecca Wile,
Jeanine Loucks, Beth Winokur and April Liwag.

2015 GEM Nursing Excellence Awards

The Nursing Excellence GEM (Giving Excellence Meaning) Awards program is a nurse-led nomination and selection program. Nominees come from all specialties and practice settings and can be nominated for any of the six categories:

  • Advancing and Leading the Profession
  • Clinical Nursing, Inpatient
  • Education and Mentorship
  • Home, Community and Home Care
  • Patient and Staff Management
  • Volunteerism and Service

Each year, asks their valued nurse readers to nominate exceptional nurses they work with. Nominations detailing the extraordinary nursing contributions are submitted online. During the selection process, six finalists are selected for each category and the winner is announced at the regional GEM event. This year, five finalists were selected from St. Joseph Hospital for the following categories: Advancing and Leading the Profession (Jeanine Loucks, MSN, RN-BC, PMH, Manager of the Emergency Care Center PECDU), Education and Mentorship (Beth Winokur, PhD, RN, CEN, Clinical Educator), Clinical Nursing, Inpatient (Aileen Ingles, BSN, RN, PCCN, Clinical Nurse IV from Med Tele, Rebecca Wile, MSN, RN, CCRN, Clinical Nurse III from MICU, and April Liwag, MSN, RN, CMSRN, PHN, Clinical Nurse IV from General Surgery).

On Friday, June 5, nominees, family, friends and management attended a reception at the Universal Studios Hilton. After all the nominees were introduced and highlights from their nominations were read, the winners were announced. April Liwag won for Clinical Nursing, Inpatient.

AACN Circle of Excellence Award Winner, 2010

Carmen Ferrell, RN, MSN, CCRN, Executive Director of Critical Care and Telemetry Services, has received the 2010 Circle of Excellence award from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses. Given annually, less than 25 individuals worldwide receive this prestigious award.

Circle of Excellence recipients are chosen by a panel of volunteer reviewers and rated on the basis of how well the nominees achieved the following criteria:

  • Relentlessly promotes patient-driven excellence
  • Models skilled communication, true collaboration, effective decision making and meaningful recognition
  • Transforms thinking, structures and processes to address challenges and remove barriers to advance patient-driven excellence Furthers AACN's mission and key initiatives at influential forums
  • Enriches own and other organizations by influencing and mentoring others in achieving excellence
  • Achieves visible results that validate impact of individual leadership contribution to organizational excellence.

Meet Leda Monsees, a St. Joseph Hospital nurse celebrating
her 50th anniversary in Nursing!

Click here and scroll down to find Leda.