For Physicians Only


On behalf of the sisters of St. Joseph of Orange and the Board of Trustees we would like to acknowledge our Medical Staff members, who are toiling every day to improve the health and quality of life of the people in our community. We take pride in our 1,000-member Medical Staff's reputation for providing clinical excellence, embracing patient care advancements, and fulfilling the altruistic mission of St. Joseph Hospital.

In particular, our colleagues listed below take time from their busy practices to serve in a critical role as Medical Staff Officers, tackling tough issues and fostering our culture of high-quality patient care. With these exceptional leaders we confidently face the challenges ahead.

Raymond Casciari, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer
Paul Beck, M.D. Chief of Staff

2012 - 2013 Medicall Staff Officers

Paul Beck, M.D.
Chief of Staff

Lawrence Ehrlich, D.O.
Vice Chief of Staff

Michele Carpenter, M.D.

George Moro, M.D.
Immediate Past Chief of Staff

Melvyn Sterling, M.D.

Joseph Preston, M.D.

Department Chairs and Vice Chairs

Clifford Char, M.D. Anesthesiology
John Harris, M.D. Anesthesiology

Himsiri De Silva, M.D. Behavioral Sciences
Bala Gulasekaram, M.D. Behavioral Sciences

Richard Hill, M.D. ENT (Otorhinolaryngology)
Edward S. Lee, M.D. ENT (Otorhinolaryngology)

Brian Lee, M.D. Emergency Medicine
Claudia Gold, M.D. Emergency Medicine

Samir Azzam, M.D. Family Practice
Michael Malouf, M.D. Family Practice

Brian Boyd, M.D. Internal Medicine
Peter Smethurst, M.D. Internal Medicine

Shalizeh Shokooh, M.D. Cardiology

Haig Najarian, M.D. Gastroenterology

Janis Fee, M.D. OB/GYN
Randy Fiorentino, M.D. OB/GYN

Michael Schoen, M.D. Pathology
Aaron Sassoon, M.D. Pathology

John Winkelman, M.D. Pediatrics
Connie Bartlett, D.O. Pediatrics

David Karlin, M.D. Radiology
Joseph Tison, M.D. Radiology

Russell Montgomery, M.D. Surgery
Rajesh Khanijou, M.D. Surgery

Jay Harness, M.D. Surgery - General

Bradley Noblett, M.D. Surgery - Neurologic

Sanford Ratner, D.D.S. Surgery - Oral and Maxillofacial

Steve Barnett, M.D. Surgery - Orthopedic
Jack Chen, M.D. Surgery - Orthopedic

Linda Zeinah, M.D. Surgery - Plastic and Reconstructive

Brian Palafox, M.D. Surgery - Thoracic

Russell Montgomery, M.D. Surgery - Vascular

Brian Norouzi, M.D. Urology


Paul Beck, M.D. Medical Executive Committee

Bradley Noblett, M.D. Operating Room

George Moro, M.D. Quality Council

Michele Carpenter, M.D. Quality Enhancement